Colour Themes

Style Switcher

Text Resize

About Us

Directorate of Higher and Technical Education

Minister of Department

The Directorate of Higher & Technical Education was bifurcated from the erstwhile Directorate of Education to set up a separate establishment for dealing with the matters pertaining to the Higher Education. The Government of Puducherry, to impart quality higher education has established various colleges in the Government sector and also under various Societies. Apart from this, private initiative in the field of higher education also being encouraged by this Government by providing No Objection Certificate for Private Managements to start Arts & Science Colleges and Professional Colleges.

There is one Central University by the name of "Puducherry University" located at Kalapet. Most of the Government Arts & Science Colleges, Professional Colleges, Engineering & Medical colleges are affiliated to Puducherry University. It also offers various courses in its campus.

The national Institute of technology started at Karaikal during the year 2010-11 offering quality technical education makes our students to compete in the international arena

There are seven Government Arts & Science Colleges in the U.T. of Puducherry, they are, Bharathidasan Govt. College for Women, Tagore Arts College, Kanchi Mamunivar Centre for Post Graduate Studies in Puducherry Region, Avvaiyar Govt. College for Women, Arignar Anna Govt. Arts College in Karaikal Region, Mahatma Gandhi Govt. Arts College in Mahe Region and Dr. S.R.K. Govt. Arts College in Yanam Region.

There are four Arts & Science Colleges and one B.Ed. Colleges under the Puducherry Society for Higher Education as follows :

  • Perunthalaivar Kamarajar College of Education, Karaikal.
  • Indira Gandhi College of Arts & Science, Puducherry.
  • Perunthalaivar Kamarajar Govt. Arts College, Puducherry.
  • Raiv Gandhi Arts & science College ,Puducherry.
  • Kasthurba College for Women, Villianur, Puducherry.

These colleges are mainly promoted to offer job oriented courses and also to provide quality education for the rural population, courses like B.Sc.(Bio-Technology), B.Sc.(Computer Science), B.Sc (Statistics) and B.A., (Foreign Trade) and B.Sc.(Microbiology) B.B.A. (Tourism and Travel Management), B.A. (Social Work ) are offered in the above said colleges.

As far as Professional Colleges are concerned, Puducherry Engineering College and Perunthalaivar Kamarajar Institute of Engineering and Technology established by Government of Puducherry are the Institutions offering various B.Tech & M.Tech Courses. In the private sector, there are 11 Engineering Colleges are running in the U.T. of Puducherry.

To promote Post Matric Technical Education, the Government has established a Puducherry Institute of Post Matric Technical Education Society (PIPMATE) which runs five Polytechnic Colleges apart from that there is one Government Polytechnic viz. Mothilal Nehru Government Polytechnic located at Lawspet, Puducherry

Five Polytechnic Colleges run by PIPMATE Society are:

  • Women Polytechnic College, Puducherry
  • Karaikal Polytechnic College, Karaikal
  • Indira Gandhi Polytechnic College, Mahe
  • Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Polytechnic College, Yanam
  • Women Polytechnic College, Karaikal

Also a community college is also running in the premises of the Karaikal Polytechnic College, Karaikal

The main function of this Directorate is to deal with the service matters of the Lecturers, their career progression and providing infrastructure facilities to the colleges. The academic part of the college is comes under the purview of the Puducherry University. Bharathidasan Govt. College for Women, Puducherry has been granted Autonomous status by the UGC.

Based on the infrastructure available and quality of education provided, the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) accredited Govt. Colleges and society colleges as follows:

Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 02-01-2020